#DTM Trophy: Great demand and new calendar

The adaptation of the 2020 DTM racing calendar also results into a revised schedule for the new DTM Trophy. The six race weekends have now been scheduled for a period between July and November. The city race at Nuremberg’s Norisring (10-12 July) marks the season opener for the new GT racing series in the DTM supporting programme; the season finale will be held at the Hockenheimring from 6-8 November.

As a result, not only the twelve teams already registered now have a higher degree of security for their season planning. The entry list currently features 20 GT cars from Mercedes-AMG, McLaren, Audi, BMW, Porsche and Aston Martin. Among the drivers already confirmed are well-known names, including Sophie Hoffmann, Felix von der Laden (both Car Republic), Ben Tuck, Max Koebolt (both Walkenhorst Motorsport), Felix Hirsiger (Allied Racing), David Serban (Carbogaz Racing), Fidel Leib, Jan Kisiel (both Leipert Motorsport), Kelvin Snoeks (Racing One) and Ben Green (FK Performance).

Frederic Elsner, Director Event at the DTM umbrella organisation ITR, said:

“The number of 20 registered cars represents a strong basis and shows that the DTM Trophy concept is very well accepted in the customer sport scene. With the new racing calendar, we are not only offering the already registered drivers and teams of the DTM Trophy a higher degree of planning security. Especially in the current situation, this is a particular concern for us – but also with regard to the other interested parties who now want to plan their motorsport season. We are in very good talks with potential teams in this respect.”

New deadline for registration

Due to the restructuring of the DTM Trophy race calendar and the resulting postponement of the season opener, ITR has also set a new deadline for registration. Interested teams can now register until 1 June 2020 under the known conditions. The enrolment fee is €23,000 plus VAT per participant – including tyres by series partner Hankook and fuel free of charge at all official events. Series organisers will distribute a prize fund of €150,000 between the top three drivers in the championship. The winner of the Trophy’s junior classification – for drivers under the age of 22 – will also earn a money-can’t-buy opportunity to test a DTM car at the end of the 2020 season.

The DTM Trophy will receive high-profile billing across its six weekends in 2020. With a confirmed start-time of 1515CET for every race (except Saturday’s Norisring event), the series will immediately follow the headlining DTM event, earning it high visibility on the busy DTM race weekend programme. Click here for more information on the DTM Trophy: https://www.dtm.com/en/dtm-trophy

Entry list (as of 3 April 2020)
# Team Car
2 Leipert Motorsport Mercedes AMG
3 Team GT McLaren 570S
4 Leipert Motorsport Mercedes AMG
5 Racing One Audi R8 LMS
6 Racing One Audi R8 LMS
8 Car Republic Audi R8 LMS
10 FK Performance Motorsport BMW M4
11 FK Performance Motorsport BMW M4
15 Jörg van Ommen Autosport Mercedes AMG
18 PROsport racing Porsche Cayman Pro4
19 Leipert Motorsport Mercedes AMG
30 Allied Racing Porsche 982 MR
33 Team GT McLaren 570S
34 Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M4
35 Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M4
36 MRT Aston Martin Vantage
46 MRT Aston Martin Vantage
77 Carbogaz Racing Audi R8 LMS
94 Car Republic Audi R8 LMS
99 Phoenix Racing t.b.a.

The revised 2020 calendar*
10/07–12/07 Norisring (GER)
31/07–02/08 or 02/10–04/10 Scandinavian Raceway Anderstorp (SWE)**
07/08–09/08 Circuit Zolder (BEL)
11/09–13/09 Nürburgring (GER)
16/10–18/10 Lausitzring (GER)
06/11–08/11 Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg (GER)

* Subject to FIA approval
** Decision on date in due course