#8 TOYOTA GAZOO RACING / Toyota GR010 - Hybrid - FIA WEC TotalEnergies 6h of Spa Francorchamps - Circuit de Spa Francorchamps - Stavelot - Belgium -

FIA WEC – Toyota takes Hypercar 1-2 in front of record crowd at WEC Spa race

Toyota Gazoo Racing clinched a 1-2 victory at today’s TotalEnergies 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, round three of the FIA WEC, in front of a record crowd for a WEC race at the Belgian circuit.

It is Toyota’s 42nd WEC win and the second consecutive win in Spa for the No. 7 crew driven by Mike Conway, Jose Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi.

The trio led home the sister No. 8 Toyota GR010 Hybrid Hypercar (Brendon Hartley/Sebastien Buemi and Ryo Hirakawa) with the Japanese manufacturer now leading the Hypercar manufacturer standings by 33 points over Ferrari after three races.

The final podium position went to the No. 51 AF Corse Ferrari 499P driven by James Calado, Alessandro Pier Guidi and Antonio Giovinazzi – with a flying Calado surging on the final lap to move ahead of the No. 5 Porsche Penske 963.

Taking fifth place and making it four different manufacturers in the top five was the No. 2 Cadillac Racing Hypercar of Alex Lynn, Earl Bamber and Richard Westbrook.

Team WRT did the Spa-Francorchamps LMP2 double as they reprised their 2022 victory but this time it was with the No.41 Oreca-Gibson as opposed to the No.31 that triumphed 12 months ago.

Rui Andrade, Robert Kubica and Louis Deletraz took victory by 6.042 seconds over the No. 23 Oreca of Josh Pierson, Tom Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (United Autosports) in a tense and thrilling battle.

The LMGTE Am class saw Alessio Rovera, Lilou Wadoux and Luis Perez Companc take class honours in the No. 83 Richard Mille AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE Evo. In doing so Wadoux became the first female driver to win a WEC category.

Rovera took the chequered flag 18.6 seconds ahead of the No. 33 Chevrolet Corvette C8.R driven by Nicolas Varrone, Nicky Catsburg and Ben Keating.

The next round of the FIA WEC is the “big one” – the centenary of the 24 Hours of Le Mans (10-11 June).