racing one bolsters Audi presence with two-car #DTM Trophy squad

German motorsport operation racing one will run two Audis in this year’s DTM Trophy, the team confirmed today.

racing one, from Andernach, near Koblenz, has competed successfully in TCR Germany and the VLN series, and joins DTM Trophy teams fielding cars from high-profile manufacturers including Aston Martin, BMW McLaren, Mercedes-Benz and Porsche in the new race series.

racing one team principal Martin Kohlhaas said:

“We’re delighted to be making the jump to DTM Trophy for 2020, alongside our fantastic partners Hella Pagid and Ravenol. After a successful season in 2019, this felt like a natural step for us. And to be racing alongside the DTM – one of the biggest series in Europe – is a fantastic opportunity for the whole organisation.”

Frederic Elsner, ITR Director Event, added:

“We’re delighted to welcome Martin and the racing one operation to the DTM Trophy. We’ve had such a fantastic response to the series, and it’s extremely gratifying to be able to witness a team of the experience and scale of racing one join us for the year ahead.”

High-profile start-times

The DTM Trophy will receive high-profile billing across its six weekends in 2020. With a confirmed start-time of 1515CET for every race (except Saturday’s Norisring event), the series will immediately follow the headlining DTM event, earning it high visibility on the busy DTM race weekend programme.

Significant prize fund on offer – PLUS free fuel and tyre supply

Registration deadline is 11 March 2020, with an enrolment fee of €23,000 plus VAT per participant – with tyres by series partner Hankook and fuel free of charge at all official events. Series organisers will distribute a prize fund of €150,000 between the top three drivers in the championship. The winner of the Trophy’s junior classification – for drivers under the age of 22 – will also earn a money-can’t-buy opportunity to test a DTM car at the end of the 2020 season.

The DTM Trophy kicks off at Zolder, Belgium (April 24-26), and concludes at Germany’s Hockenheimring (October 2-4).