#GTWorldChAsia – HubAuto Corsa confirm Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia entry with Ferrari

HubAuto Corsa confirm Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia entry with Ferrari
> Sakamoto and Russell sign up for full-season assault

HubAuto Corsa has unveiled a new-look driver line-up for this year’s Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia campaign after confirming at least one of its Ferrari 488 GT3s will return to the championship.

Two victories helped Nick Foster finish second in 2018’s Drivers’ standings while the Taiwanese squad were also fifth in the Teams’ championship. That success has led to both representing Ferrari in this year’s Intercontinental GT Challenge Powered by Pirelli.

And it’s that new, globe-trotting commitment that has resulted in a shake-up of the team’s Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia roster, which now features Yuya Sakamoto and David Russell.

Super GT300 and Super Taikyu regular Sakamoto moves across from Porsche Team EBI with whom he contested Blancpain GT Series Asia’s Japanese rounds at Suzuka and Fuji in 2017.

He’s joined by Russell who’s best known for recent outings in Australian Supercars’ endurance events, GT class podiums at the Bathurst 12 Hour, and finishing runner-up in 2015’s Porsche Carrera Cup Australia championship.

“We are excited to be returning to Blancpain GT World Challenge Asia for a second season,” said team owner Morris Chen. “The team had a great first year in 2018 when it won races and came very close to also clinching the Drivers’ Championship at the final round. Now the aim is very simple: to go one better.

“We had other options for this season but it’s important that we continue to support motorsport in Asia.”

HubAuto Corsa’s Ferrari is the second 488 GT3 confirmed for the upcoming campaign following last week’s announcement that T2 Motorsports are returning to the championship with former Formula 1 driver Rio Haryanto.

2019’s list of confirmed entries also includes Audi, BMW, Lamborghini, Mercedes-AMG and Porsche. More will be announced before the opening round at Sepang in Malaysia on April 6/7.