Huisman and Van Oranje claim Competition102 GT4 European Series poles at Zandvoort

Duncan Huisman and Bernhard van Oranje secured pole positions for the two final races of the Competition102 GT4 European Series at Zandvoort. Huisman gave the Porsche GT4 Clubsport MR its first-ever pole in the series in the first qualifying session, while Van Oranje beat teammate Rob Severs to claim pole in the second session. Romanian drivers Sergiu Nicolae and Eduard Anton (Sofia Car Motorsport) took the GT4 AM pole positions for tomorrow’s races.

First GT4 European Series pole for Porsche GT4 Clubsport MR
Duncan Huisman claimed pole position for the first of the two Zandvoort races in Qualifying 1 with a time of 1m46.625s. Huisman set his fastest time five minutes into the session, which was only bettered by Racing Team Holland by Ekris Motorsport driver Ricardo van der Ende. However, Van der Ende’s fastest time was disallowed for improving under yellow. His second fastest time was not enough to beat Huisman’s fastest time, resulting in the first series pole for the Porsche GT4 Clubsport MR. The Academy Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage GT4 of Dennis Strandberg was third fastest.

Championship points leader Peter Terting qualified his PROsport Performance Porsche Cayman PRO4 GT4 13th in GT4 PRO, while second placed Nicolaj Møller Madsen finished the session in 16th place. Italian Luca Anselmi qualified the Villorba Corse Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4 in ninth place in GT4 PRO.

The Sin Cars Sin R1 GT4 of Sergiu Nicolae claimed pole position in GT4 AM, after NMT Racing’s Tristan Boorsma’s fastest lap was disallowed for a yellow flag violation. GT4 AM points leader Jan Kasperlik ended the qualifying in seventh place, one place behind his rival Jérôme Demay.

Racing Team Holland by Ekris Motorsport 1-2 in Qualifying 2
Bernhard van Oranje and Rob Severs helped each other to make it a Racing Team Holland by Ekris Motorsport 1-2 in Qualifying 2. The Dutch teammates gave each other a tow, which helped Van Oranje to claim pole position for the final race of the season. Just under four minutes from the end of the session Van Oranje put in a 1m47.393, 0.360s faster than teammate Severs. Reiter Young Stars driver Mads Siljehaug qualified his KTM X-Bow GT4 in third place.

Jörg Viebahn was tenth fastest in GT4 Pro, two places behind PROsport Performance teammate and title rival Andreas Patzelt. The Villorba Corse Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4 of Patrick Zamparini, currently third in the standings, qualified fourth in GT4 PRO.

Despite a spin at turn 3, rookie Eduard Anton put the Sofia Car Motorsport Sin R1 GT4 on pole in GT4 AM. The Romanian driver beat the Street Art Racing Aston Martin Vantage of Damien Dupont, with the Brookspeed Porsche GT4 Clubsport MR of Graeme Mundy taking third place.

The opening race of the Zandvoort weekend will get underway at 10:00 tomorrow morning, followed by the final race of the season at 15:00 tomorrow afternoon. Both races can be followed live on www.gt4series.com/live.

Competition102 GT4 European Series

The Competition102 GT4 European Series consist of six rounds, held at premier race tracks in Europe and partnering top level GT or touring car championships except from the last round in Zandvoort where the GT4 category will be the main programme. The championship includes two endurance races and one round at a street course.

Competition102, unique fuel for maximum performance

Competition102 is premium petrol with an octane number of 102. The unique high octane number of 102 (RON 102) and MON number of at least 90 ensures optimal performances. Competition102 is suitable for all petrol-powered vehicles: from classic (Formula 1) cars and normal passenger vehicles to cross motorcycles and high performance racing cars. Competition102 fuel is exclusively produced, stored and distributed by Salland Olie Maatschappij B.V. in the Netherlands. It’s available at over 60 petrol stations nationwide and is sold in 60-litre barrels.

Pirelli, official tyre supplier

Pirelli is a tyre manufacturer and world leader in the automotive industry. It has an exclusive relationship with over 50 racing series worldwide, including Formula One. Pirelli has a long and illustrious history in endurance racing, and has also claimed a huge variety of class wins in GT racing all over the world. The design of the new Pirelli GT tyres meets the needs of GT racing while maintaining the performance characteristics that endurance drivers have appreciated in the past. The slick tyres used for GT racing are branded Zero: just like the slicks that have become a central feature of Formula One. The name P Zero is used in the highest categories of motorsport such as GT racing.

SRO Motorsports Group, architect of modern GT Racing

SRO Motorsports Group was founded by Stephane Ratel and has specialised in the promotion, support and organisation of many national and international motorsport series since 1995. In 2016, SRO Motorsports Group will promote several championships and series, such as the Blancpain GT Series, including the iconic Total 24 hours of Spa, the British GT Championship, the Blancpain Sports Club with the GT Sports Club and the Ultracar Sports Club, the Competition102 GT4 European Series and the Intercontinental GT Challenge. SRO Motorsports Group runs also the SRO Race Centre by MMC, a high-level technical centre at the Paul Ricard Circuit in the south of France.